Student Loan Payback for Social Workers


A recent reader asked the following questions about loan payback for social workers;

I am a social worker who works with poor mentally ill substance users and I still have a ton of student loans. Where can I find if there are any debt forgiveness programs for people who work with the underserved?

Jen

Hello Jen

Thank you so much for your comment! I did a bit of digging and here is what I found. 

http://www.naswdc.org/loanforgiveness/

That link is to the National Association of Social Workers, and is a directory of Student Loan Forgiveness/Payback programs to help pay off your student loans. All of them involve working for a designated group one way or another. That is a common feature of loan payback/forgiveness is a work component I have found. Also, as I mentioned in my article, the US military does still have its payback programs which are very generous for enlistees, and some Social Workers that enter the health services corps. The US Navy, Army, Air Force, and National Guards all offer some form of program. I dont know if this is an option for you, but everyone I have talked to who has used the service has been extremely pleased to get the debt off their backs for good!

heres the article on that I updated for this year.

https://collegemoneyman.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/how-to-get-help-paying-on-your-student-loans-if-you-didnt-graduate-college-let-uncle-sam-pay/

Also, there is the National Health Services Corps, which is a Uniformed Branch of the Federal Government but not military.

There is also a loan forgiveness program from the federal government that is specifically for people like you who serve the public sector called Public Service Loan Forgiveness, you can find details of this here:

http://www.finaid.org/loans/publicservice.phtml

I hope that some of this information helps, and if i find anything else, I will email you to let you know. Please dont hesitate to contact me again for any reason should you need assistance with any of these programs or just questions on any facet of financial aid. Good luck!

regards

JR Vazquez

Ask a Question!

