‘Would You Rather…?’ A Text Messaging Campaign on a Mission to Help Students Manage Their Money


College Smart Radio

DoSomething.org Logo We’ve all done some weird things to make money. My weirdest job? Working at an events company where I would dress in an elf costume, work the popcorn machine, and shuffle snot-nosed kids through the line to meet Santa every holiday season. At an Easter event one spring, I saw the inside of the Easter Bunny costume head, and was never the same. Every time I got a paycheck from that job, it seemed like it was gone in the blink of an eye. I had no idea how to manage, invest, or save my money.

I wasn’t alone in my lack of finance savvy, and the implications of being clueless about money extend much further than the holiday season. Seventy percent of college seniors graduate with student loan debt, averaging $29,400 in 2013,[1] and 36% of recent college graduates are mal-employed[2], meaning they work in positions…

View original post 325 more words

Ask a Question!

